MFSR Bush Poetry 2015

Poetry and Bush Music

Bush poetry is Australian, has rhyme, rhythm & metre.

It’s written about Australia and Australians through an Australian’s eyes.

A fair-dinkum way of keeping our heritage alive.

On the first weekend in April, the mountains around Corryong are set to ring with a new crop of Banjo Paterson fans and entrants in the Victorian Bush Poetry Championships and Bush at the Man from Snowy River Bush Festival. From Thursday to Sunday, there’ll be hardly a time when somebody, somewhere in Corryong is not reciting a poem or singing a song….and  we encourage you to try as many of the different components of our authentic bush gathering.

Australian Written Champions - Tom McIlveen and Will Moody

Australian Written Champions: Tom McIlveen and Will Moody

For Championships credibility we must follow the ABPA’s rules and categories for Yarns, Classical, Modern & Original Serious & Humorous  and we have also retained our MFSR Recital comp, with three finalists reciting Banjo Paterson’s  famous poem on Friday night at Banjo’s Block, the poets’ home base.

With $5000 in prize money & trophies, there’s of lot of competition to be taken care of!  If you’re a competitor, that’s an opportunity for Novices and Intermediates, and if you’re just wanting to experience it, roll up and  enjoy renditions of some of Australia’s favourite poems, yarns and songs of life, lame ducks and locals.

BYO chair to Banjo’s Block/Youth Hall on Strzlecki Way as it is the Poetry and Bush Music base camp at the festival.

DOWNLOAD 2016 MFSR Poetry Program

DOWNLOAD 2016 Section Names and Thank yous

Judges and MCs

2016 Bush poetry judges

Banjo's block

Banjo’s block

Geoffrey Graham  has wowed audiences all around Australia with his characters and one of his best is Banjo Paterson. Relive our bush traditions with Geoffrey (pictured).

It’ll be standing room only at the Comedy Comp, a favourite event on Saturday night, followed by our highlight concert starring our guest poetry judges.

Our judging team include:

Robyn Skyes – current Female Australian Champion Bush Poet.

Carol Reffold –  Crowd favourite, always a delight.

Colin Driscoll 

Rhymer from Ryde

Graeme Johnson, a wonderful ear-grabbing Bush Poet and “stretcher of truth” extraordinaire.

Other guests will include Lazy Harry from Beechworth with performances across the festival for adults and  children.


Geoffrey Graham leads tehe Poets in the 2015 Street Parade

Geoffrey Graham leads the Poets in the 2015 Street Parade

Once the campfire dinner is eaten, get ready for some ridgy-didge camp-fire entertainment at Banjo’s Block, where most poetry and music events are held. Once the instruments are tuned up, there’ll be singing and playing well into the night, and of course the billy will be on the boil. We welcome unplugged campfire musicians all weekend.

At Poetry and Music events at our Bush Festival you can experience friendly country hospitality and spectacular beauty of the high country in autumn.  You might get caught up in the magic of it all and start reciting bush poetry, singing campfire songs, and do a bit of yarn-spinning yourself.

Poetry Program Booklet 2016

Apply for MFSR2016

Adult Entries are now closed. 

Junior Entries Open 1st February 2016 and Close 11th March 2016

1. Download 2016 VBPC MFSR Recital Round 1- Audio Assessment Sheet

2. Download MFSR Bush Festival ‘Official Version’ of The Man From Snowy River by A B Paterson

3. Download  2016 VBPC Junior Competition Entry Form

Australian Bush Poetry Association rules

For more information contact Poetry Event Manager

Jan Lewis :    

p |  (02) 6077 4332

2015 RESULTS (Click to view) 



 Get your tickets for the 2016 MFSR Bush Festival at the link below!

Ticketebo Buy Button

CLICK HERE for information on CAMPING

Want to Volunteer?? Get a reduced cost ticket by helping us make it the best festival yet!Poetry competition is a labour intensive game! We really appreciate the work of our judges and guests and willing volunteers.

Apply to be a festival volunteer HERE


Murray Goulburn, Tom Groggin Station, Corryong Sporting Complex, Towong Hill Station, Linton Vogel, Ryan Lewis, *Matilda awards sponsored by Honor Auchinleck